Docketbook Jobs can only be created from with in the Organisation (Company) that is responsible for the Job, please make sure you are inside the right Organisation by clicking on the Organisation Menu on the top right of your screen and clicking on the correct Organisation. You can't create Jobs from your My Docketbook. Find out more about Organisations.


Docketbook Jobs can only exist as part of a Docketbook Order.  You can create a Docketbook Job either from the Jobs View on the sidebar menu or from the relevant Order found from the Orders View on the sidebar menu.

Creating a Job (from Order)

Click on the Orders View on the sidebar menu and find the appropriate Order for the Job to be attached to.

This will open the Order detail panel on the right hand side of your screen. Click on Jobs and then click on the + to create the blank Job

This will take you to the Jobs view sidebar menu with the Jobs detail panel open, refer below on Completing Job Creation.

Creating a Job (from Jobs View)

Click on the Jobs View on the sidebar menu,

then click on the Create Job Button on the top right of your screen.

This will take you to the Jobs view sidebar menu with the Jobs detail panel open.

Completing Job Creation

Complete the details of the new job including:

  • Any specific instructions including From/To information if relevant
  • Start & Finish Dates
  • Confirm Items and quantities.  By default the items from the Order will be copied into the Job.

Then assign the job to one or more members of your organisation.

Save the Job & Send it.  Assignees will be notified of the new Job.

Copying Jobs
Jobs can be copied either singly or in bulk by using the duplicate jobs feature.
Select 1 or more jobs from the list then use the action menu (three dots at the top right) and select Duplicate jobs.  Enter the Start/Finish dates of the new jobs and select OK.  Jobs will be duplicated with instructions, items and assignees.

Sending Jobs

Jobs are sent using the action menu and selecting Send.  This changes the status of the job to 'Sent'.

Closing Jobs

Closing a Job removes the job from the assignees' job lists regardless of whether it has been assigned, accepted or finished.  Jobs are closed using the action menu and selecting Close.

Did this answer your question?